The Curious Charms Of Arthur Pepper

The Curious Charms Of Arthur Pepper

REVIEWS RATING

by Phaedra Patrick

Deal Price: $2.99

Imprint: Mira

Release date: 2016-06-01

Pages: 272 Pages

ISBN: 9781760374365

Format:

Buy from:

In this poignant and curiously charming debut, a lovable widower embarks on a life–changing adventure

Sixty–nine–year–old Arthur Pepper lives a simple life. He gets out of bed at precisely 7:30 a.m., just as he did when his wife, Miriam, was alive. He dresses in the same grey slacks and mustard sweater–vest, waters his fern, Frederica, and heads out to his garden.

But on the one–year anniversary of Miriam's death, something changes. Sorting through Miriam's possessions, Arthur finds an exquisite gold charm bracelet he's never seen before. What follows is a surprising and unforgettable odyssey that takes Arthur from London to Paris and as far as India in an epic quest to find out the truth about his wife's secret life before they met – a journey that leads him to find hope, healing and self–discovery in the most unexpected places.

Featuring an unforgettable cast of characters with big hearts and irresistible flaws, The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper is a joyous celebration of life's infinite possibilities.

“Filled with colourful, complex characters and adventure, The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper is a lovely story about grief and healing. I was moved by Arthur and his journey. You will be too.” – Marisa de los Santos, New York Times bestselling author of Love Walked In

Once in a great while, a character like Arthur Pepper comes along and quietly steals your heart. Arthur might make you cry – but he'll also make you laugh, think, and feel grateful that you came along on his fantastical journey."  – Sarah Pekkanen, bestselling author of Things You Won't Say

"Eccentric, charming, and wise, The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper is about finding courage, generosity, and compassion, even when all seems lost... This book will illuminate your heart."  – Nina George, New York Times bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop

“A touching tale of rediscovering someone you love. Arthur Pepper is utterly charming and endearing.”  – Lauren Willig, New York Times bestselling author of The Other Daughter

“Tender, insightful, and surprising... [Arthur Pepper] will instantly capture the hearts of readers who loved The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, The Little Paris Bookshop, and The Red Notebook.”  – Library Journal, starred review

Your reviews

About the author

Phaedra Patrick

Phaedra Patrick

PHAEDRA PATRICK is the author of Rise and Shine, Benedict Stone and The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper, which has been published in over twenty countries around the world. She studied art and marketing, and has worked as a stained-glass artist, film festival organizer and communications manager. An award-winning short story writer, she now writes full-time. She lives in Saddleworth, UK, with her husband and son.
View author profile

Also by Phaedra Patrick